Picture Credit: X/BCCI

Picture Credit: X/BCCI

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Tuesday, April 30 announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024. While Rohit Sharma being named the skipper of the side was no surprise, Hardik Pandya was shouldered the responsibility to be Rohit’s deputy for the marquee tournament. 

Apart from this, Sanju Samson and Yuzvendra Chahal finding a place in the main squad was also surprising other than KL Rahul and Rinku Singh’s absence. With several questions in the minds of Indian fans and pundits, the Chief Selector, Ajit Agarkar along with Team India skipper Rohit Sharma on Thursday, May 2 addressed a press conference at the BCCI headquarters in Mumbai.

During the press conference, a journalist questioned why the management opted to go ahead without any off-spinner. Here the Indian skipper dropped a hilarious reaction as he corrected the journalist and raised his finger to gesture that he is a part-time off-spinner, if the requirement arises. The Chief Selector and the other members present in the room burst into laughter on hearing Rohit Sharma’s hilarious response. 

Watch Rohit Sharma’s hilarious response here:

“We discussed a lot, unfortunately, Washy hasn’t played a lot lately. It was then between Ash and Axar. It was like that, we thought having two left arm spinners - Ash hasn’t played the format lately. Axar was in good form when he played those five matches against Australia. He has been bowling well and gives us that left handed option in the middle if we want to do something different,” Rohit revealed during the press conference.

It is to be noted that India has named four spinners in Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel. On the other hand, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj along with Arshdeep India, will make India’s pace trio. 

India’s squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Rohit Sharma (C), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Hardik Pandya (VC), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.

Travelling Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Avesh Khan.