The multi-format series between India and West Indies kicked off with the first Test on July 12, where the hosts won the toss and opted to bat first at Windsor Park in Dominica. The visitors maintained their dominance throughout the day, first while fielding, then with the bat and took the upper hand. The visitors ensured that they didn't only play the game but also enjoy the Caribbean music and environment and were quite at ease on Day 1. It was quite visible from India star Shubman Gill’s antics, who was completely immersed in the jolly atmosphere.
Follow: WI vs IND first Test Live Score
A video of Gill has been doing rounds on social media, where India’s future star was seen performing hilarious dance moves. The incident took place before the start of the 64th over of the Windies’ innings. By that time, the hosts had already lost nine wickets and were struggling at 148.
Watch the video here:
Speaking of the game, the Rohit Sharma side dominated the play on the opening day; all thanks to Ravichandran Ashwin, who conceded 60 runs to take five wickets. Not only this, but the left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja also took three wickets for 26 runs, ending the Caribbean innings at 150 in 64.3 overs.
Coming to open the innings for Team India, Rohit Sharma and debutant Yashasvi Jaiswal scored 30 and 40 respectively, pulling up the team's score to 80 by the end of 23 overs without any loss. Apart from Jaiswal, Ishan Kishan was also handed his Test cap ahead of the first Test. World’s number one bowler R Ashwin, who was benched out during the WTC Final 2023, became the third Indian to reach the 700-wicket mark in international cricket on Wednesday. Ashwin achieved the feat as he dismissed Alzarri Joseph in the 53rd over.
Gill takes stunning catch at short leg in first Test against West Indies
Shubman Gill, who is set to bat at number 3 for India, took a stunning dive at the short leg and got a catch in the 65th over on the first day of the Test against West Indies. Jomel Warrican, who pulled a shot off Ashwin’s delivery, was sent to the pavilion as Gill took a spectacular dive after the ball hit his gloves.
Though the third umpire was consulted as the on-field umpires couldn’t decide, whether Gill took the catch correctly or not. The third umpire then reviewed the catch and declared the batter out.