Picture Credit: X/@BCCI

Picture Credit: X/@BCCI

The Rohit Sharma-led Team India are in New York ahead of the T20 World Cup 2024, which is scheduled to be played in the United States of America (USA) and West Indies from June 1. Moreover, the entire is back together after more than two months and will set their eyes on the coveted trophy, aiming to end their T20 champions trophy draught since 2007.

The side, who will play one warm-up match against Bangladesh before their campaign at the T20 World Cup 2024, took to the field for their first training session in the USA. In a video shared by the Broad of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), skipper Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, vice-captain Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube, Suryakumar Yadav amongst others trained on a bright sunny day in New York.

“We came in day before yesterday, and we just eased into our routines here. The idea was to just get used to the time zone. Today, we are having our first ground session,” Soham Desai, Team India’s strength and conditioning coach said. 

Watch glimpse of Team India’s training session ahead of T20 World Cup 2024:

The first batch of Indian cricketers left for New York on May 25, while the next batch departed just a day later on May 26 after the conclusion of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024. However, several players are yet to join the side in New York ahead of their first warm-up match, which is scheduled for June 1. 

Excited: Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah share views

With the Indian cricket team in New York, several senior cricketers including Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah and Suryakumar Yadav shared their opinions after their first outing on the field ahead of T20 World Cup 2024. “We have not yet played cricket. We have come here for a team activity. Hopefully, it will be good. The weather is really good, so looking forward to it,” Bumrah said.

“It’s exciting to be here in New York. It has a good vibe, bright sun out,” vice-captain Hardik Pandya further asserted. 

The 2007 T20 World Cup champions are placed in Group A alongside their arch-rivals Pakistan, Ireland, Canada and co-hosts USA. They will begin their campaign at the biennial tournament on June 5 when they take on Ireland in New York.