West Indies announce squad for opening Test match against South Africa; Shai Hope returns

The selection panel has trusted youngster Jayden Seales with an opportunity.

Saurabh GangulyAuthor

Updated - 08 June 2021 10:50 PM

West Indies

In a recent development, Cricket West Indies on Tuesday announced a 13-member squad for the opening Test match against South Africa. The selection panel has trusted youngster Jayden Seales with an opportunity, while Shannon Gabriel has failed to break into the team. 19-year-old Seales is an emerging fast bowler from Trinidad & Tobago and was part of the West Indies Under-19 World Cup squad in 2020. The right-arm medium has been impressive ever since he burst onto the scene.

In addition, batsman Shai Hope has been recalled into the side along with experienced left-handed opener Kieran Powell. While Hope last featured in a Test match against England in 2020, Powell last donned the Windies whites in December 2018.

Seales capable of adding potency to West Indies attack: Roger Harper

"Jayden Seales is young, very enthusiastic and has a big heart. In the ‘Best v Best’ matches, he bowled with pace, got movement and has displayed the ability to take wickets. We think he is capable of adding potency to the bowling attack," Roger Harper, the lead selector said.

"The aim is to continue to build on the performances of the last two-Test series and to keep improving as a Test team. We must continue the process of working hard, playing with great passion, playing with determination and a great desire to succeed. Doing that consistently will bring us the right results. The training camp gave the players the opportunity to prepare for the Betway Test series in all departments, considering that no real red-ball cricket has been played since the series against Sri Lanka in March," he added.

The first Test of the two-match series is set to commence on June 10 at the Daren Sammy Cricket Ground in St Lucia.


Kraigg Brathwaite (C), Jermaine Blackwood (VC), Nkrumah Bonner, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Alzari Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Kieran Powell, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales


Join our Family Today!