capitals ilt20 sportstiger

The International League T20 2023 has started with much fervour and optimism. The inaugural edition of the six-team tournament kickstarted on January 13 and will run until February 12, with a total of 34 matches scheduled to take place in Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Sharjah.

With the rising number of T20 leagues originating from different countries, the UAE-based league decided to introduce five belts, Green, White, Black, Red, and Blue belts, which has in turn brought the novelty factor. With this development, the players and teams are rewarded for their impressive performances in the tournament. Here’s what these five belts signify in the context of the ILT20 2023.

Green Belt

This belt will be given to the player emerging as the highest run-scorer in the competition, revolving matches-wise. It is based on the same concept of the Orange Cap used in the IPL, wherein the batter receives the cap after the respective innings.

White Belt

Just like the Purple cap in IPL, Green Belt will be awarded to the player with most wickets in the ILT20 2023 at the end of the innings. 

Black Belt

This belt will be earned by the owner of the franchise, who will lift the ILT20 2023. The distribution will take place at the final-match presentation.

Red Belt

The Red Belt will be awarded to the Most Valuable Player of the tournament in the final presentation. MVP is generally awarded to the player on the basis of his influence in shaping team’s results.

Blue Belt

An all-important recipient of the Blue Belt will be the best UAE player at the end of ILT20 2023. A total of 24 players are in attendance and are getting much-needed exposure to quality cricket.