ruturaj ms dhoni captain

Credit: X

Just a day before the start of the IPL 2024, the Chennai Super Kings announced that Maharashtra batter Ruturaj Gaikwad will replace five-time champion MS Dhoni as the captain of their side. The decision was a massive shock especially after Dhoni led CSK to their fifth IPL title by beating Gujarat Titans in the IPL 2023 final.

Gaikwad has grown into a vital cog in Chennai's previous two title wins, as he won the Orange Cap in 2021 and scored 590 runs in the previous season as he alongside New Zealand star Devon Conway ensured incredible starts for the Yellow Army. CSK released an official statement confirming that Dhoni passed on his captaincy responsibilities to Gaikwad ahead of IPL 2024.

CSK statement on Gaikwad replacing Dhoni as captain

The CSK statement said, "MS Dhoni has handed over Chennai Super Kings’ captaincy to Ruturaj Gaikwad ahead of the start of TATA IPL 2024.  Ruturaj has been an integral part of Chennai Super Kings since 2019 and has played 52 matches in IPL during this period.  The team looks forward to the upcoming season."

Chennai Super Kings will kick off IPL 2024 against the Royal Challengers Bangalore at the M.A. Chidambaram stadium on March 22. In another home game, the Yellow Army will take on their IPL 2023 final opponents, Gujarat Titans on March 26. The Super Kings will play Delhi Capitals (March 31) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (April 5) in their remaining games of the first phase of IPL 2024.