The inaugural edition of the Women's Premier League (WPL) finally kicks off with a grand opening ceremony at DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai. Bollywood stars Kriti Sanon and Kiara Advani along with Punjabi singer AP Dhillon lit up the packed stadium with their performances in the opening ceremony.  The first match of the tournament is set to be played between the Gujarat Giants and the Mumbai Indians at 8 PM IST. 

Apart from the glittering and stary performances, fans were eagerly waiting for the WPL trophy which was finally unveiled by all 5 franchises' captains. Host Mandira Bedi first called the BCCI officials on stage and later called the captains of all 5 franchises one by one.  Meg Lanning of the Delhi Capitals, Beth Mooney for Gujarat Giants, Harmanpreet Kaur of the Mumbai Indians, Smriti Mandhana of the Royal Challengers Bangalore, and finally, Alyssa Healy of the UP Warriorz came on stage to unveil the trophy. 

The captains took covering off the trophy which was on a podium in front of them. The unveiling received a huge roar from the crowd at the stadium. 

Watch it here:

Gujarat Giants opt to bowl

Gujarat Giants' skipper Beth Mooney won the toss and opt to bowl in the opening match of WPL 2023. Mooney revealed that the side has opted for 4 spinners and 3 seamers in the Playing XI.