Trending News

Pak vs WI 2nd ODI: Pakistan penalised 5 runs as Babar Azam fields with wicketkeeper’s glove, picture surfaces

Pakistan and West Indies will play the third and final ODI in Multan on June 12.

Vaidehi Singh Editor

Updated - 11 June 2022 2:23 pm

Babar Azam Fielding

Pakistan took an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match ODI series against West Indies after clinching the second game on Friday in Multan. Pakistan skipper Babar Azam led from front as he scored 77 off 93 balls. Although he took his side to a win, he cost the Men in Green 5 runs during West Indies run-chase.

During the 29th over of the game, Babar Azam was caught picking the ball behind the stumps. While he collected the ball, he was seen wearing one of the wicketkeeper’s gloves.

Check out here:

Babar Azam’s action was deemed illegal by the on-field umpire which saw five extra runs being added on the West Indies scoreboard.

As per the cricket laws in 28.1 Protective equipment, “No fielder other than the wicket-keeper shall be permitted to wear gloves or external leg guards. In addition, protection for the hand or fingers may be worn only with the consent of the umpires”.

However, this incident didn’t change the result of the match as Pakistan has already sealed the three-match ODI series 2-0.

Pakistan and West Indies will play the third and final ODI in Multan on June 12.

HAVE A GREAT DAY WITH TOP STORIES IN THE WORLD OF SPORTS

Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story