Trending News

Pakistan fast bowler Usman Shinwari announces retirement from Test cricket

Shinwari's last appearance for the Men in Green was the only time he played a Test match for Pakistan way back in December 2019.

Saurabh Ganguly Editor

Updated - 16 November 2021 5:17 pm

Pakistan pacer Usman Shinwari announced retirement from Test cricket on Tuesday. The decision comes in a bid to focus on his limited-overs career. Shinwari has featured in 17 ODIs and a solitary Test match for Pakistan and conveyed that he is fit after undergoing treatment for back injuries.

In a social media post, he also said that the decision to announce retirement from Test cricket was also necessary to avoid such injuries in the future. The pacer is aged 27 years as per official records.

Thanks to @sportsphysiojav ALHAMDULILLAH I have made my comeback again from back injury and now I am absolutely fit but due to my Doctors and physio advises I have to leave Long format to avoid such injuries in future and prolong my Cricket career.I am Resigning from Red ball,” he tweeted.

Check out the tweet here:

Shinwari’s last appearance for the Men in Green was the only time he played a Test match for Pakistan way back in December 2019. He made his senior team debut in December 2013 in T20Is but had to wait for four years before he could play an ODI.

Meanwhile, the Pakistan team suffered a semifinal heartbreak in the T20 World Cup after remaining unbeaten till the knockout stage of the competition. Post the World Cup, the T20 squad has already reached Dhaka where they have to participate in a T20I series beginning on November 19.

Two Test matches will also be played between the two teams which will follow the T20I series.

Pakistan T20 Squad: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Shoaib Malik, Usman Qadir.

Pakistan Test squad: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Abdullah Shafique, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Bilal Asif, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Zahid Mahmood.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story
Dafa Ads 400x60