Match Details

Date: 23rd February, 2021

Time: 7:30 PM (IST)

Venue: National Stadium, Karachi


The Pakistan Super League has begun in full swing and we have been treated to some breathtaking action already. Although, both teams started their campaign with a loss, there was full-scale energy displayed from both sides. Multan Sultans felt short against Islamabad United and Peshawar Zalmi lost to Lahore Qalandars in their opening game. For the Sultans, wicket-keeper batsman Mohammed Rizwan once again shone with the bat. He smashed a quick-fire 71 but the lone warrior wasn’t duly supported by his comrades. Sohail Tanvir and Sohaibullah’s form will be a headache for Rizwan as both were taken to the cleaners by the Islamabad batsmen. Peshawar, on the other hand, did not put up a fighting total against the mighty Lahore. Ravi Bopara was the sole performer for them as he notched up 50 off 44 deliveries. But their bowling was mostly tight and accurate except the performance of Amad Butt, who was smashed all over the park. He had a economy rate of 12.8. Both teams will be looking forward to drawing first blood in their campaigns.

Team News

Multan Sultans:

There is no injury news or update at the present moment. Will update if there are any. Mohammed Rizwan and Carlos Brathwaite are the men to watch out for.

Peshawar Zalmi:

Wahab Riaz and Darren Sammy are back after serving a three-day quarantine for COVID-9 breach. Ravi Bopara and Wahab Riaz are the men to watch out for.

Head to Head (Last 6 matches)

Multan Sultans: 4

Peshawar Zalmi: 2

Players to watch out for (T20I stats)

Mohammed Rizwan:

Runs: 510 | HS: 104*

Ravi Bopara:

Runs: 711| S/R: 118.7| HS: 65*

Wahab Riaz:

Wickets: 34| Average: 28.6

Probable Playing XI

Multan Sultans:

Chris Lynn, Mohammad Rizwan (C and WK), James Vince, Shan Masood, Rilee Rossouw, Khushdil Shah, Shahid Afridi, Carlos Brathwaite, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Umar, Sohail Khan

Peshawar Zalmi:

Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Akmal (wk), Haider Ali, Shoaib Malik, Ravi Bopara, Sherfane Rutherford, Amad Butt, Umaid Asif, Wahab Riaz (C), Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Saqib Mahmood