Premier League's 'Big Six' fined for involvement in European Super League

Premier League clubs, who had signed up to play in the Super League, have agreed to pay a fine of £22 million pounds.

Ketaki PoleAuthor

Updated - 10 June 2021 02:28 PM

Six Premier League clubs fined for involvement in Super League

In an unprecedented moment for European football, 12 of Europe’s top clubs announced breakaway European Super League, a new mid-week competition by the founding clubs of teams of England, Spain and Italy. The list of founding clubs included the 'Big Six' of English Premier League, and top clubs from La Liga and Serie A. However, this money-minded breakaway tournament faced harsh criticism from UEFA and FIFA with warnings of international ban on players. Following which the tournament imploded within 48 hours after a massive public backlash led to the six English clubs revoking their involvement.

In a recent development of the Super League menace, the competition has now outlined its own punishments, to avoid future threats of a breakaway.

'Big Six' Premier League clubs to pay a combined fine of £22 million

In a recent joint statement given by Premier League and FA, the clubs have decided to pay a combined fine of £22 million pounds with the prospect of a 30-point deduction and £25 million fine for each club, if they join a breakaway competition in the future- effectively ruling out such a possibility. These 6 clubs include Manchester City, Chelsea, Arsenal, Liverpool, Manchester United, and Tottenham Hotspur.

"The six clubs involved in proposals to form a European Super League have today acknowledged once again that their actions were a mistake, and have reconfirmed their commitment to the Premier League and the future of the English game," read the joint statement.

"As a gesture of goodwill, the clubs have collectively agreed to make a contribution of £22million, which will go towards the good of the game, including new investment in support for fans, grassroots football and community programmes," the statement further read.

'Big Six' apologise to fans, fellow clubs, Premier League and FA

The joint statement also read that the clubs have apologized for their involvement in a breakaway tournament to not only Premier League and Football Association, but also to their fans.

As per reports, Manchester United's owners the Glazers, Liverpool owners Fenway Sports Group, Arsenal's majority shareholders Kroenke Sports Enterprises and Tottenham's owners will be paying the fines rather than the franchises.


Join our Family Today!