Match Details

Date: 21st June, 2021

Time: 6:30 PM (IST)

Venue: Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Live Ball-by-Ball Commentary: SportsTiger App


Islamabad United and Multan Sultans were clearly the top teams in the league matches of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2021. In previous encounter between these two teams, Sultans went down to the United by four wickets at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium. Both teams are again set to clash in the Qualifier. The Islamabad United are on a five-match winning streak and their confidence would be high to make it into the finals. On the other side, Multan Sultans were on a four-match winning streak before losing to Islamabad.

Team News

Islamabad United made five changes for the last game as they were set to finish as the table-toppers irrespective of the result of the game. Colin Munro, Usman Khawaja, and Hasan Ali who didn’t play the previous match are expected to come back into playing XI.

The Multan Sultans also rested fast bowler Imran Khan and leg-spinner Imran Tahir, two of their standout bowlers in the previous match. Hammad Azam and Usman Qadir are likely to make way for the Imran duo into the playing XI.

Head to Head

Islamabad United– 3

Multan Sultans – 5

Key Players:

Colin Munro- New Zealand batsman Munro has been the standout player for Islamabad United. In five matches, he has scored 241 runs at an average and strike rate of 80.33 and 174.63 respectively. More often than not, he has been able to take his team to greater heights. In the previous match, he was rested and will be fresh for this game. United will be looking for another knock of substance from him.

Shahnawaz Dhani- Shahnawaz Dhani has been stupendous for the Multan Sultans in PSL. In nine games, the seamer has picked up 20 wickets at an economy rate of 8.19. He has bagged two four-wicket hauls and has been a primary reason behind Sultan’s dominance in the tournament. The United batters will have to be cautious while facing the young fast bowler.

Probable Playing XI:

Islamabad United- Usman Khawaja, Colin Munro, Asif Ali, Brandon King, Muhammad Akhlaq (wk), Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan (c), Hussain Talat, Hasan Ali, Fawad Ahmed, Akif Javed

Multan Sultans- Shan Masood, Mohammad Rizwan (c and wk), Sohaib Maqsood, Johnson Charles, Rilee Rossouw, Khushdil Shah, Sohail Tanvir, Blessing Muzarabani, Shahnawaz Dhani, Imran Khan, Imran Tahir