Picture Credit: IPL/BCCI

Picture Credit: IPL/BCCI

The contest between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Punjab Kings turned out to be a rather low-scoring one as KL Rahul's side could only manage a total of 120 in Chennai. While there wasn't a lot of drama during the contest, the first innings did end with a talking point as Mohammed Shami was adjudged run-out, leaving the fans in a bit of confusion.

What actually happened?

The incident happened on the fourth delivery of the last over as Shami hit the ball towards deep backward point. He made a late call to Arshdeep Singh to come back for a double. As Vijay Shankar threw the ball towards the striker's end, Shami was nowhere in the picture as Bairstow dislodged the stumps. While everyone thought that it was a clear out, the decision was surprisingly referred to the third umpire. As the replays were displayed, it was seen that Bairstow had got rid of a bail with his knee before receiving the ball.

Why was Shami still ruled out?

However, the TV umpire could be heard saying that he wanted to see more angles of the incident. It was baffling for the fans as it was very evident that a bail had already been dislodged. But, the TV umpire wanted to check if only one bail was removed or both. The umpire was right in checking that because as per MCC Laws of cricket, law no. 29 states, "If one bail is off, it shall be sufficient for the purpose of putting the wicket down to remove the remaining bail."

Since it was evident with the replays that only one bail was off, Shami was legally 'out' as Bairstow dislodged the other bail clearly with the ball in his gloves. This is the reason why the Punjab Kings' batsman was given out and how the umpire applied the rules of cricket to perfection.