Road Safety World Series 2022 set to kick off on January 19 Reports

Image Source: Road Safety World Series

Enjoyed the inaugural edition of the Road Safety World Series? Here is a good news for you all. The RSWS is returning with its second edition in 2022. Veteran cricketers from all around the world will again reunite on the field and will take on each other for a noble cause. The likes of Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Jonty Rhodes, Brian Lara, all will be back in action on the cricketing field once again. The 20-over format league is likely to be played in January-February next year.

According to the latest update, the second edition of the league will reportedly begin on 9th January and will be played till 16th February. The second season will be played in the UAE, looking at the COVID-19 situation across the world. Amid all the challenges posed by the coronavirus, it will be a delight to witness some old school cricketing action. The spectators will be able to relive the old rivalries of the cricketing field.

The seven teams who are a part of this T20 league are Sri Lanka Legends, South Africa Legends, India Legends, Australia Legends, West Indies Legends, England Legends, and Bangladesh Legends.

India Legends crowned champions of the inaugural edition

The inaugural edition of the Road Safety World Series, which took place in a span of more than one year due to COVID outbreak, saw hosts India Legends being crowned as the champions. The Sachin Tendulkar-led side defeated the Dilshan-led Sri Lanka Legends in the final. Being put into bat first, India Legends posted a good total of 181/4, thanks to Yuvraj's half-century and Yusuf Pathan's all-round effort. Pathan scored 62 runs and claimed two wickets in the final fixture.

Sri Lanka Legends, in reply, fell short by 14 runs. Captain Dilshan with the help of his 18-ball 21 gave a brisk start but couldn't get going. Sanath Jayasuriya tried to steer the islanders with his 43 off 35, but was dismissed by Yusuf Pathan. Chinthaka Jayasinghe's 40 and Kaushalya Weeraratne's 38 proved insufficient as India claimed a decent victory in the end.