Trending News

Rohit Sharma becomes 3rd Indian captain to win Man of the Series award in T20Is and much more

Rohit Sharma has smashed most fifty-plus scores (30) in T20I history.

Sudharshan Sridharan Author

Updated - 22 November 2021 3:46 pm

  • Rohit Sharma became 3rd Indian Captain to win Man of the Series award in T20Is.

India completed a clean sweep against the Kiwis by winning all three T20I matches. Rohit Sharma started his full-time captaincy with a dominating individual performance by smashing 159 runs in 3 innings. After winning the toss, India opted to bat first and posted 184 runs on board with the help of Rohit Sharma-Ishan Kishan’s good opening partnership and Deepak Chahar’s terrific cameo at the end. In the chase, New Zealand kept losing wickets at regular intervals and only Martin Guptill posed a challenge to the Indian bowling attack. Axar Patel and Harshal Patel were impressive with the ball for team India.

Numbers and Stats from Ind vs NZ 3rd T20I:

3 – Rohit Sharma became 3rd Indian Captain to win Man of the Series award in T20Is.

Indian Captains to win Man of the Series award in T20Is:

Suresh Raina vs Zimbabwe, 2010
Virat Kohli vs Sri Lanka, 2017
Virat Kohli vs West Indies, 2019
Virat Kohli vs England, 2021
Rohit Sharma vs New Zealand, 2021

22 – Martin Guptill has smashed 22 fifty-plus scores in T20Is as an opener and surpassed the record of David Warner.

Most fifty-plus scores as opener in T20Is:

Rohit Sharma – 25
Martin Guptill – 22
David Warner – 21

6 – Rohit Sharma has smashed six fifty-plus scores against New Zealand in T20Is.

Most fifty-plus scores against an opponent in T20Is:

Virat Kohli – 7 vs Australia
David Warner – 6 vs Sri Lanka
Rohit Sharma – 6 vs New Zealand

13 – Yuzvendra Chahal became 13th Indian Player to play 50 T20I matches for India.

3 – India have won 3 match T20I series by 3-0 margin for the 3rd time in home soil. All three instances have happened under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy only.

Instances of India winning all matches in a home T20I series (3 match series):

3-0 vs SL, 2017
3-0 vs WI, 2018
3-0 vs NZ, 2021

20 – Ish Sodhi has taken 20 wickets against India in T20Is.

Most wickets against an Opponent in T20Is:

Rashid Khan – 34 vs Ireland
Tim Southee – 24 vs Pakistan
Shahid Afridi – 21 vs New Zealand
Lasith Malinga – 20 vs New Zealand
Ish Sodhi – 20 vs India

30 – Rohit Sharma has smashed most fifty-plus scores(30) in T20I history.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story
Dafa Ads 400x60