Trending News

Sergio Aguero and Didier Drogba among six legends named as Premier League’s Hall of Fame inductees

The prestigious award recipients will all be officially honoured at an event in London.

Aakash Srivastava Author

Updated - 22 April 2022 2:03 pm

Former Manchester United goalkeeper Pete Schmeichel and ex-Arsenal striker Ian Wright are among six ex-players inducted into the Premier League’s Hall of Fame, the league announced on Thursday. With last week’s edition of Wayne Rooney and Patrick Vieira, Sergio Aguero, Didier Drogba, Vincent Kompany, Peter Schmeichel, Paul Scholes and Ian Wright, a total of 16 players have been added to the Premier League Hall of Fame.

Upon receiving the honour, Scholes reportedly said, “It’s a special feeling to be inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame. I was part of a team that won so many trophies and winning the Premier League 11 times, was extremely special.” The 47-year-old midfielder scored 107 times in 499 outings between 1993 and 2013 and won 11 titles.

Meanwhile, Former Manchester City striker Sergio Aguero was quoted saying, “Entering the Hall of Fame makes me happy for myself and for my family”. “I just loved playing football here with Manchester City and the memories of winning the Premier League five times, including the most important goal of my career to win that first one”, he added.

However, Chelsea great Drogba quoted, “It is a real honour for me to have been inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame. My years with Chelsea were so special to me, and I’m incredibly proud of everything we won as a team.”

Schmeichel is the first goalkeeper to be added in the Hall of Fame, selected by the public and Premier League awards panel. The 58-year-old veteran has won five titles with the Red Devils between 1991 and 1999 and went on to play for Aston Villa and Manchester City, finishing his career with 310 top-flight appearances, 128 clean sheets and one goal.

The prestigious award recipients will all be officially honoured at an event in London. All Hall of Fame inductees will receive a medallion engraved with their name and the year of their induction, with a 10,000-pound donation made by the Premier League to a charity of their choice.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story
Dafa Ads 400x60