Trending News

Smriti Mandhana lone Indian in ICC Women’s and Men’s T20I teams of 2021

Babar Azam has been chosen as the captain of a star-studded men's side while it is Nat Sciver who has been chosen the skipper of the women's team.

Rohan Gulaty Author

Updated - 19 January 2022 8:17 pm

On Wednesday, ICC announced the Men’s and Women’s T20I Team of the Year for 2021 and there was a major setback for all the Indian fans as no men’s player could make the cut. The reason could be India’s disappointing run in T20 World Cup in UAE. All the big names like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah among others had a mediocre year which was just not enough to warrant them a place in the side.

However, seeing Smriti Mandhana’s name in the Women’s team could have compensated to a certain extent the disappointment of the Indian fans who would be heartbroken by the men’s team performance. But Mandhana made sure that India did not go unrepresented and found her name on the list on the back of a great show in T20I format in 2021.

Which players made it to team of the year?

2021 saw the return of T20 World Cup after a long gap of 5 years and the performances in mega-event played a huge contributing factor for selection of players in the team of year.

Among the openers, there were quite a few options in form of David Warner, Jason Roy, Quinton de Kock etc. However, it was the duo of Jos Buttler and Mohammad Rizwan who stood apart and deservingly got a place in the side. Rizwan was also selected as the wicket-keeper of the side.

Babar Azam got slotted in at No. 3 and was also given the captaincy honour. Meanwhile, Aiden Markram, Mitchell Marsh and David Miller formed an explosive and solid middle-order.

With so many options in spin department with the likes of Adam Zampa, Ravichandran Ashwin, Adil Rashid, Ish Sodhi, Rashid Khan etc., ICC decided to go ahead with the duo of Tabraiz Shamsi and Wanindu Hasaranga who performed consistently through the year.

The dream team was completed with the pace trio of Josh Hazlewood, Mustafizur Rahman and Shaheen Afridi who were certainly a nightmare for all batsmen in 2021.

As far as the women’s team is concerned, England’s Nat Sciver was named the captain. In addition, Tammy Beaumont was chosen as Mandhana’s opening partner with Danni Wyatt, wicketkeeper Amy Jones and spinner Sophie Ecclestone being the other English players in the side. Ireland’s Gaby Lewis, South African trio of Laura Wolvaardt, Shabnim Ismail and Marizanne Kapp and Zimbabwe’s Loryn Phiri complete the women’s T20I XI.


ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year for 2021

Jos Buttler, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Babar Azam (c), Aiden Markram, Mitchell Marsh, David Miller, Tabraiz Shamsi, Josh Hazlewood, Wanindu Hasaranga, Mustafizur Rahman, Shaheen Afridi.

ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year for 2021

Smriti Mandhana, Tammy Beaumont, Danni Wyatt, Gaby Lewis, Nat Sciver (c), Amy Jones, Laura Wolvaardt, Marizanne Kapp, Sophie Ecclestone, Loryn Phiri, Shabnim Ismail.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story
Dafa Ads 400x60