Trending News

South Africa name 21-member squad for Test series against India

Dean Elgar will lead the Test side, while Temba Bavuma will be his deputy. 

SportsTiger Staff Administrator

Updated - 7 December 2021 2:45 pm

Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Tuesday announced a 21-member squad for the Test series against India which is scheduled to start on December 26. Dean Elgar will lead the Test side, while Temba Bavuma will be his deputy.  Duanne Olivier, who has returned to South Africa following a prolonged stint in the United Kingdom, has also been named in the squad. Olivier’s last Test appearance for South Africa was in Gqeberha against Sri Lanka in February of 2019.

“We are really looking forward to the return of Dean Elgar and his men, it’s been a long few months since the last time we saw them dominate in the West Indies. We are confident in the team that we have selected and believe fully in backing the talent that we have unearthed and cultivated over the last couple of seasons and giving players the backing that they deserve when they have continuously done well over a significant period of time”, Victor Mpitsang, the Convenor of Selectors, said.

“This Test series is also important in terms of getting some points in the Test Championship table and we are confident that this group will pick up from where they left off and give us a good show on home soil”, he further added.

India will play 3 Tests and 3 ODIs against the hosts, starting from December 26. Earlier, the Men in Blue were supposed to play 4 T20Is as well but due to the outbreak of the new COVID-19 variant omnicron the shortest format series was postponed.

Earlier, CSA had announced the revised fixtures of India’s tour of South Africa. The Boxing Day Test between both sides will be played in Centurion, followed by New Year’s Test at The Wanderers. The final Test will be played in Cape Town.

Proteas Squad: Dean Elgar (captain), Temba Bavuma (vice-captain), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Kagiso Rabada, Sarel Erwee, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Anrich Nortje, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Marco Jansen, Glenton Stuurman, Prenelan Subrayen, Sisanda Magala, Ryan Rickelton, Duanne Olivier.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story