Trending News

Spanish Grand Prix 2022: All you need to know about Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya

The weekend at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya will start on 20 May.

Abhishek Sandikar Author

Updated - 19 May 2022 4:17 pm

After a two-week interval, Formula One returns as the ten teams head to Spain for the Pirelli Spanish GP at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. The historic track will be hosting its 32nd race where legends like Michael Schumacher, Alain Prost, Mika Häkkinen, etc have dominated. 

The Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya was inaugurated in 1991 and is located just outside of Barcelona and was built for various ranges of motorsports. F1, MotoGP and the FIA World Rallycross Championship are among some to host races here. Similarly, the venue was also used as a venue for the 1992 Olympics.

Here’s all you need to about the track specification of the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.

How long is the track at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya?

The circuit in Barcelona has 66 laps and is 4.665 km long. It will feature 16 corners, and two straights with two DRS zones.

What is the estimated top speed at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya?

The estimated top speed at the Spanish track will be around 345km/h/214mph, on the approach to Turn One.

Who have been the last ten winners at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya?

2021 – Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes

2020 – Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes

2019 – Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes

2018 – Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes

2017 – Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes

2016 – Max Verstappen, Red Bull

2015 – Nico Rosberg, Mercedes

2014 – Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes

2013 – Fernando Alonso, Ferrari

2012 – Pastor Maldonado, Williams

2011 – Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull

Who has had the fastest lap at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya?

Kimi Raikkonen has the fastest lap in Barcelona with timing of 1:21.670. 


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story