Sri Lanka announce squad for upcoming ODI and T20I series against India; Dasun Shanaka named as captain

Kusal Perera has been ruled out of the series due to a shoulder injury.

Rohan Gulaty Author

Updated - 16 July 2021 5:37 pm

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) have finally announced their squad for the upcoming home white-ball series against India, set to be played at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. Amid the disciplinary inquiries, contractual disputes and the COVID-19 outbreak in the camp, the board has had to deal with a few issues before making the final squad announcement on Friday. A 24-member squad was selected by the selection committee, excluding former skipper Kusal Perera, who has been ruled out of the series due to a shoulder injury.

Dasun Shanaka to lead the side against India

Sri Lanka have also appointed a new captain in the form of all-rounder Dasun Shanaka for the upcoming white-ball series against India. Dhananjaya De Silva has been chosen as the vice-captain for the series. Notably, Binura Fernando has also been named in the side but he will only be available for the 3-match T20I series.

Sri Lanka Squad:

Dasun Shanaka (C), Dhananjaya De Silva (VC), Kusal Janith Perera (Injured), Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ashen Bandara, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Udara, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Binura Fernando (Injured), Dushmantha Chameera, Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dhananjaya, Shiran Fernando, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Ishan Jayaratne, Praveen Jayawickrema, Asitha Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana

More to follow...