Sri Lanka name 25-man squad for series against India

While Dasun Shanaka will lead the side, Dhananjaya de Silva will be his deputy.

Aditya Kumar Editor

Updated - 9 July 2021 1:42 pm

With just four days left for the white-ball series between India and Sri Lanka to kick off, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has reportedly finalised the squad for the contest. However, the picked players need to be approved by the sports minister of the island nation in order to play in the series against India starting July 13.

Notably, the development comes after 29 of the 30 Sri Lankan players agreed to sign tour contracts for the series against India. The one player who has denied a deal is Angelo Mathews as he has taken a break from national duties owing to personal reasons.

SLC has selected 25-player squad for the white-ball series against India, as per Dailynews. While Dasun Shanaka will lead the side, Dhananjaya de Silva will be his deputy. It is worth noting that the tentative squad also has the name of Bhanuka Rajapaksa, who has been fined $5000 for a breach of contract and handed a suspended one-year ban.

Here is the squad of Sri Lanka for India series:

Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Dhananjaya de Silva (Vice-captain), Kusal Janith Perera, Avishka Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Ishan Jayaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Isuru Udana, Asitha Fernando, Binura Fernando, Sheran Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dananjaya, Praveen Jayawickrama, Ashen Bandara, Lahiru Udara, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Kumara, Kasun Rajitha and Bhanuka Rajapaksa

Sri Lankan squad awaits COVID test report

Sri Lanka's batting coach Grant Flower had tested positive for coronavirus on Thursday. Following this, the entire squad had to go through another set of COVID test, result of which is being awaited. Notably, the Sri Lankan contingent has come from the series against England, whose three players and four staff members later returned positive tests.

On the other hand, visitors India are leaving no stone unturned with regular practice session despite the scorching heat in the island nation.

India's squad for white-ball series against Sri Lanka

Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicketkeeper), Sanju Samson (Wicketkeeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

Net Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh

Watch the video here: