Trending News

Sri Lanka’s official jersey for T20 World Cup 2021 revealed

Sri Lanka also announced their final 15-member squad for the ICC event which is set to get underway from October 17.

Saurabh Ganguly Editor

Updated - 14 October 2021 4:09 pm

Sri Lanka have released their new jersey ahead of the Men’s T20 World Cup this month. The team from the island nation will don a jersey with a fresh look which boats of a bright design that keeps intact the colours of blue and yellow but has a tinge of orange, indigo and black mixed with it.

In addition to the jersey Sri Lanka also announced their final 15-member squad for the ICC event which is set to get underway from October 17 across United Arab Emirates and Oman.

It is worth highlighting that Sri Lanka made as many as four changes to their original 19-member squad which was announced last month with Pathum Nissanka, Akila Dananjaya, Lahiru Kumara and Binura Fernando being slotted in while seven players- Kamindu Mendis, Nuwan Pradeep, Praveen Jayawickrama, Minod Bhanuka, Ashen Bandara, Lakshan Sandakan and Ramesh Mendis- were no longer part of the contingent.

Check out Sri Lanka’s jersey here:

Out of those who were excluded, it is being reported that Pradeep and Madushanka sustained injuries which has allowed the team management to replace them with like candidates in terms of the skill they offer. Nisaanka, who was one of the five additions named by Sri Lanka Cricket, became the primary cricketer to grab a place in the final Sri Lankan side.

Meanwhile, Sri Lankan duo of Wanindu Hasaranga and Dushmantha Chameera, both of whom were part of the Royal Challengers Bangalore camp in IPL 2021, were released by the team so that they could join the national camp ahead of the world event. Bangalore are pretty much alive in the competition and are taking on Kolkata Knight Riders in the Eliminator at Sharjah.

The winner of the game will play Qualifier 2 against Delhi Capitals after Chennai Super Kings handed the Rishabh Pant-led team a four-wicket defeat in Qualifier 1 to cement a place for themselves in their ninth IPL final.

Sri Lanka’s squad for T20 World Cup 2021:

Dasun Shanaka (c), Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya De Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Chamika Karunaratne, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Maheesh Theekshana, Akila Dananjaya, Binura Fernando.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story
Dafa Ads 400x60