Sri Lanka set to welcome South Africa for white-ball series in September; fixtures announced

The series will be held in Colombo from 2nd September to 14th September.

Rohan GulatyAuthor

Updated - 30 July 2021 06:41 PM

Sri Lanka set to welcome South Africa for white-ball series in September

After successfully hosting India for a thrilling ODI and T20I series each despite COVID-19 concerns, Sri Lanka are now set to welcome the Proteas for another exciting white-ball series. Just like the recently-concluded series, South Africa's tour of Sri Lanka will see the two teams locking horns with each other in 3-match ODI series followed by 3-match T20I series.

Considering the present situation in Sri Lanka, the board confirmed that all the matches will be played at the same venue - R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium in Colombo - under a bio-bubble Environment. The authorities will want to ensure that there is no outbreak of virus in the bubble this time around after three Indian cricketers - Krunal Pandya, Krishnappa Gowtham and Yuzvendra Chahal - tested positive during the series.

Schedule of Sri Lanka vs South Africa series

Sri Lankan fans would be extremely happy to see another top team agreeing to come to the country to play in what is going to be a highly-anticipated bilateral series. The schedule of the series will be as follows:

1st ODI - September 2

2nd ODI - September 4

3rd ODI - September 7

1st T20I - September 10

2nd T20I - September 12

3rd T20I - September 14

SL could feature same squad that played against India

While the trio of Danushka Gunathilaka, Niroshan Dickwella and Kusal Mendis are likely to be handed long-term bans for breaching bio-bubble in England, there is still no update on the return of senior players like Angelo Mathews and Dinesh Chandimal, Suranga Lakmal and Dimuth Karunaratne in the white-ball squad. Hence, it is expected that the home side might name a similar-looking squad that featured recently against India.

The only likely addition to the squad could be of Kusal Perera, who was ruled out of the series against India due to injury. In his absence, Dasun Shanaka was named as the captain and he could continue in that role even after Perera's return considering the recent success for the side under Shanaka's leadership.

Probable Sri Lanka squad for series against SA

Dasun Shanaka (c), Kusal Janith Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Avishka Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Ishan Jayaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Isuru Udana, Asitha Fernando, Binura Fernando, Sheran Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dananjaya, Praveen Jayawickrama, Ashen Bandara, Lahiru Udara, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Kumara, Kasun Rajitha and Bhanuka Rajapaksa.


Join our Family Today!