Trending News

Sunrisers Hyderabad lodges complaint on Williamson’s dismissal against Rajasthan Royals: Reports

According to a report, SRH has written to the Indian Premier League (IPL) officials, protesting against the third umpire's decision.

Ritesh Pathak Author

Updated - 2 April 2022 8:24 pm

The 15th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is underway and so is some breathtaking action. With the addition of two new teams to the pool, the tournament has got even bigger and more exciting. Although the tournament is in its early days, all ten teams are fighting a neck-to-neck battle in every game. While some have succeeded in dominating their opposition, some have been on the receiving end of things.

Sunrisers Hyderabad are one team that have received some thrashing right in their first game. The Kane Williamson-led side had looked clueless in their opening game of the season against Rajasthan Royals. While their bowlers conceded as many as 210 runs in 20 overs, their batters failed to cross 150 while chasing and eventually lost the game by massive 61 runs.

Their captain Kane Williamson also could not do much as he was dismissed by youngster Prasidh Krishna early in the innings. The lanky pacer got Williamson off a beautiful outswinger. However, the catch taken to dismiss Williamson was referred to the third umpire. Although the umpire had given the batter out, questions were raised about the decision.

And now, the franchise has decided to take an action against it. According to a report in Cricbuzz, SRH has written to the Indian Premier League (IPL) officials, protesting against the third umpire’s decision. “Yes, we’ve written to the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The procedure is that the coach has to write and the process has been followed,” a franchise official from Hyderabad was quoted as saying in the report.

What had happened?

On the fourth delivery of the second over, Prasidh Krishna bowled a length ball that squared Williamson up and the batter could only manage a thin outside edge. The ball flew to the right off wicketkeeper Sanju Samson who dived to just get fingertips to it. The ball then went towards Devdutt Padikkal who was standing alert at the first slip.

As the ball was coming off of Sanju’s gloves, it was dying on Padikkal. But the fielder dived forward to catch the ball. To the naked eye, it looked that the ball was caught cleanly and so the soft signal from the on-field umpire was also for out. But they wanted to check with the third umpire. As the replays were shown on the big screen, it seemed that Padikkal might have managed to keep his fingers underneath and so the on-field call stayed. But to many, it also seemed like the ball touched the ground before being collected by Padikkal.

Watch the dismissal here.

HAVE A GREAT DAY WITH TOP STORIES IN THE WORLD OF SPORTS

Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story
Dafa Ads 400x60