Trending News

T20 World Cup prize money announced; winner to receive INR 12 crores

The runners-up also receive a hefty sum of INR 6 crores.

Saurabh Ganguly Editor

Updated - 14 October 2021 5:40 pm

T20 World Cup 2021 Prize Money

With a week to go for the start of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the prize money to be awarded to the top teams of the world event set to happen in Oman and UAE. While the winner of the competition are set to receive a sum of INR 12 crores ($1.6 million), the runners-up will also receive a hefty sum of INR 6 crores ($800,000).

That’s not all as the two losing semifinalists will also get prize money of INR 3 crores ($400,000) each. This implies that each of the top four teams will receive prize money. Overall, as many as $5.6 million are set to be allocated for the competition and it will be shared between the 16 participating sides.

A bonus for each win in the Super 12 stage of World Cup

The ICC also said that in addition to the cash prize mentioned above, it will also be awarding a bonus amount for each win registered by teams during the Super 12 stage of the marquee event. A similar scheme was adopted even in the 2016 edition of the tournament which was won by the West Indies.

The winners during each of the 30 matches slated during the Super 12 stage will take an amount which will be worth $40,000 (around INR 30 lakh) which implies a total of $1,200,000 (around INR 9 crores) spent on these winners. There are awards even for teams that get knocked out of the Super 12 stage and they will receive $70,000 (around INR 53 lakh) each, implying a total sum of $560,000 (approx. 4.20 crores).

Similar setup for Round 1 matches

A similar setup is in place for teams winning matches in the Round 1 of the T20 World Cup. Here, winning teams will get $40,000 during the 12 matches during the stage, creating a prize money pool of $480,000 (approx 3.60 crores). Moreover, the four teams that will get knocked out during round one will also get $40,000 each from an overall prize pool of $160,000 (approx. 1.60 crores).

Yet another important announcement coming in from the ICC is that a drinks break of the duration of 2 minutes and 30 seconds will take place during the halfway mark of each innings. The competition will get underway with the Round 1 matches on October 17. However, the Super 12 stage will commence on October 23.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story