Team India announce 17-member squad for last two Tests, Umesh Yadav returns

With the series levelled at 1-1, India have gone with a full-strength squad for the last two Tests of the four-match series. Pacer Umesh Yadav will join the team after his fitness assessment.

Rohan GulatyAuthor

Updated - 17 February 2021 03:57 PM


The All-India Senior Selection Committee met on Wednesday to select the squad that will take on England in the last two Test matches to be played at Motera Stadium in Ahmedabad.

India’s squad for last two Tests in Ahmedabad

There aren’t any major changes from the squad of the first two Tests in Chennai. The team is as follows: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (Vice-captain), KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.

Umesh Yadav to join the team in Ahmedabad

[caption id="attachment_1272" align="alignnone" width="750"] Picture Credit: Twitter[/caption]

Pacer Umesh Yadav will join the team in Ahmedabad and will replace Shardul Thakur after his fitness assessment. Thakur will be released for Vijay Hazare Trophy afterwards. The committee has also selected 5 net bowlers, which include Ankit Rajpoot, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Warrier, Krishnappa Gowtham and Saurabh Kumar.

Few players released for Vijay Hazare Trophy

Wicket-keeper KS Bharat and spinner Rahul Chahar have been announced as the stand-by players. However, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Shahbaz Nadeem and Priyank Panchal have been released for the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy.

The third Test will be a Pink-ball contest and is scheduled to begin from February 24th. The last match of the series will start on March 4th. The four match series is currently levelled at 1-1.


Join our Family Today!