The fifth day of the inaugural edition of the Pacific Premier League (PPL) had only two games played. In the first game of the day, Team Central Public School squared off against Team Mahendra Club while in the second game, it was Team Traverse against Team Pacific Organic. The first game had Team Mahendra Club as the winners, while Team Traverse beat Team Pacific Organic in the second match.

Coming to the first game, Team Mahendra Club won the toss and opted to bowl against TCPS. Mahendra Club bowlers did a good job to restrict Team CPS to 175/8 in their 20 overs. Sachin Yadav led the attack for TMC with his four-wicket haul and was ably supported by Pravar Bhardwaj (2/19) and Ketan Sharma (1/28).

For Team CPS, Mohammadfarhan Khan was the highest scorer with his 37 off 24 balls. Kumar Kirtani and Yashwant Dangi also chipped in with 33 off 26 and 28 off 19 respectively. However, brilliant half-centuries from Karan Singh Ranawat (64 off 39) and Siddhant Jaiswal (54 off 36) made it a cakewalk for Team Mahendra Club as they clinched the game with five balls to spare and by seven wickets.

Watch replay of Match 13:

Team Traverse register second win of the tournament

In the second game, Team Traverse won the toss and backed themselves to put on a total on the board. The captain’s decision was proved by the opening pair of Manay Kataria and Hemant Joshi as the duo put up a half-century stand (64 off 50). However, Pradhmyun Parakh got rid of both batters in the same over.

Watch replay of Match 14:

Wickets kept falling at regular intervals for Team Traverse and they got bowled out for 133 in their 20 overs. Devnarayan Ved was the best bowler for Team Pacific with his bowling figures of 4-0-24-3. Pradhmyun Parakh also supported with his 4-0-19-2.

Nonetheless, their bowlers' hard work was put to waste by the Pacific batter as they could only manage 120/8 in 20 overs, losing the match by 13 runs. Chirag Sharma (4-0-21-3) and Heeren Gupta (4-0-20-2) combined to bring the second win for their team in the fourth game.