Augusta Masters

Picture Credit: Twitter

The first golfing major of the year is just days away and as ever there’s no shortage of excitement for the upcoming Augusta Masters. One of the biggest stories from the tournament surrounds the return of former World No. 1 Tiger Woods after surviving a tragic car accident in 2021. 

Woods tweeted that his return to the Augusta Masters will be a ‘game-time decision’ as he is still unsure. “I will be heading up to Augusta today to continue my preparation and practice. It will be a game-time decision on whether I compete. Congratulations to 16-year-old Anna Davis on an amazing win at the @anwagolf and good luck to all the kids in the @DriveChipPutt”, Woods tweeted.

So as the Masters are just days away here’s all you need to know about the iconic tournament.

When is the Augusta Masters?

The Masters will start on 7 April and will end on 10 April 2022.

Where is the Augusta Masters held?

Like every year the first major of the year will be held at Augusta National Golf Club in Georgia.

Who is defending champion of the Augusta Masters?

Hideki Matsuyama became the first Japanese player to win the Augusta Masters and wear the famous green jacket after a one-shot historic win over Will Zalatoris. 

Where to watch the Augusta Masters in India?

Fans in India can watch The Masters live on Star Sports Select 1 and Star Sports Select 1 HD TV channels. The tournament will be available on Disney+ Hotstar.

Stars of the Augusta Masters

Most victories: 6 – Jack Nicklaus (1963, 1965, 1966, 1972, 1975, 1986)

Most runner-up finishes: 4 – Ben Hogan (1942, 1946, 1954, 1955), Nicklaus (1964, 1971, 1977, 1981), Tom Weiskopf (1969, 1972, 1974, 1975)

Largest Margin of victory: 12 – Tiger Woods (2000)

Oldest winner: Jack Nicklaus in 1986 defeating Tom Kite and Greg Norman by a single shot.

Youngest winner: Tiger Woods was just 21 years, three months and 14 days old when he won his first major in Augusta 25 years ago.

Back-to-back champions: Jack Nicklaus (1965, 1966), Nick Faldo (1989, 1990), Tiger Woods (2001, 2002)