The Hundred: All you need to know - Playing conditions, teams, schedule and more

The Hundred competition will see as many as eight teams participating in the tournament.

Saurabh GangulyAuthor

Updated - 13 July 2021 04:49 PM

2 (3)

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has announced the playing conditions for the inaugural season of The Hundred. The tournament introduces a new 100-ball per inning format and so the host board has decided to tweak with many of the sports' traditional rules and conditions.

Overs to balls

In perhaps, the biggest change of the lot, the ECB has decided that there will be a shift from overs to ball to measure the innings progression. However, it should be noted that the commentators and broadcasters will continue to use the term overs during the game.

Moreover, two sets of five balls will be allowed to be bowled from the same end and even the same bowler, if the need arises. The umpire will show a white card at the end of the first set of five balls to confirm this development to the players, scorers, broadcasters and crowds.

25-ball powerplay

It is also being learned that the toss will no longer mandatorily happen in the middle. The powerplay will be the first 25 balls, where only two fielders will be allowed outside the 30-yard circle with the fielding team given the liberty to take a two-minute timeout anytime after the completion of the 25-ball powerplay. Furthermore, in case of caught dismissals, the new batsman will take the strike irrespective even if the two batsmen crossed each other.

"Super Five" instead of Super Over

While a point will be awarded to each team if there is a tied match in the group stage, a "Super Five" will be played if the match ends at level scores in Eliminator and the final. Super Five will have five balls for each team. If the Super Five is tied, another set of five balls will be played but if that one is not enough to distinguish between the two teams, the side that finished higher in the Group stage will be awarded the win. While an amended DLS method will be used in rain-affected fixtures, the third umpire will be called the no-ball.

DRS in the domestic game

The tournament will see the use of the Decision Review System (DRS) for the first time in a domestic match in England. Moreover, if the team is running behind on the over-rate, they will need to field one less fielder outside the inner circle when the penalty is incurred by the umpire.


The Hundred competition will see as many as eight teams participating in the tournament. Among these eight, two would be the best performing team from the T20 Blast, with each team taking two-three overseas players. Moreover, at least one player in each side should be a player of the England Test side. The players are selected on the basis of a draft system.

The 8 teams to take part in the 100-ball tournament are:

1. Birmingham Phoenix

2. Manchester Originals

3. London Spirit

4. Oval Invincibles

5. Northern Superchargers

6. Trent Rockets

7. Southern Brave

8. Welsh Fire

The Hundred 2021 Schedule

July 21, Oval Invincibles v Manchester Originals (women's), Kia Oval

July 22, Oval Invincibles v Manchester Originals (men's), Kia Oval

July 23, Birmingham Phoenix v London Spirit, Edgbaston

July 24, Trent Rockets v Southern Brave, Trent Bridge

July 24, Northern Superchargers v Welsh Fire, Emerald Headingley

July 25, London Spirit v Oval Invincibles, Lord's

July 25, Manchester Originals v Birmingham Phoenix, Emirates Old Trafford

July 26, Trent Rockets v Northern Superchargers, Trent Bridge

July 27, Welsh Fire v Southern Brave, Sophia Gardens

July 28, Manchester Originals v Northern Superchargers, Emirates Old Trafford

July 29, London Spirit v Trent Rockets, Lord's

July 30, Southern Brave v Birmingham Phoenix, Ageas Bowl

July 31, Welsh Fire v Manchester Originals, Sophia Gardens

July 31, Northern Superchargers v Oval Invincibles, Emerald Headingley

August 1, Birmingham Phoenix v Trent Rockets, Edgbaston

August 1, London Spirit v Southern Brave, Lord's

August 2, Oval Invincibles v Welsh Fire, Kia Oval

August 3, London Spirit v Northern Superchargers, Lord's

August 4, Birmingham Phoenix v Oval Invincibles, Edgbaston

August 5, Manchester Originals v Southern Brave, Emirates Old Trafford

August 6, Welsh Fire v Trent Rockets, Sophia Gardens

August 7, Southern Brave v Northern Superchargers, Ageas Bowl

August 8, Oval Invincibles v Trent Rockets, Kia Oval

August 9, Birmingham Phoenix v Welsh Fire, Edgbaston

August 10, Manchester Originals v London Spirit, Emirates Old Trafford

August 11, Southern Brave v Welsh Fire, Ageas Bowl

August 12, Northern Superchargers v Manchester Originals, Emerald Headingley

August 13, Trent Rockets v Birmingham Phoenix, Trent Bridge

August 14, Oval Invincibles v London Spirit, Kia Oval

August 15, Trent Rockets v Manchester Originals, Trent Bridge

August 16, Southern Brave v Oval Invincibles, Ageas Bowl

August 17, Northern Superchargers v Birmingham Phoenix, Emerald Headingley

August 18, Welsh Fire v London Spirit, Sophia Gardens

August 21, The Hundred 2021 Finals (both men's and women's), Lord's

Where to catch the live updates of the games?

You can check the live scores of the complete tournament at SportsTiger along with ball-by-ball commentary. SportsTiger is a one-stop destination to get live score updates. The fans can download the SportsTiger application, which is available on Google Play Store and iOS App Store.


Join our Family Today!