Turkey withdraws from ICC Women's T20 World Cup Europe Qualifiers

The ICC Women's T20 World Cup Europe Qualifiers will begin today with Netherlands playing the first match against Scotland.

Ritesh PathakAuthor

Updated - 26 August 2021 12:18 PM


The spread of coronavirus has forced teams to adopt to the new normal. However, it is still proving to be difficult for a lot of nations to cope up with the necessary changes, especially for smaller nations. In the latest update, the International Cricket Council (ICC) today confirmed that Turkey have withdrawn from the ICC Women's T20 World Cup Europe Qualifiers. The event that is to be played in La Manga, Spain will now see only five teams participating in the Qualifier. ICC has also issued the revised fixture list for the same.

With less than a day to go for the event, the news from the center is that the Turkish Sports Ministry failed to provide the necessary approvals and documentation required due to COVID-19 restrictions for the team, and thus, Turkey had to withdraw from the event. With Turkey's withdrawal, the Qualifier will be a five-team tournament. ICC Regional Development Manager, Europe, said that it's regretful that Turkey won't be taking any part.

“It is with great regret that Turkey will not be taking part in the Europe Qualifier at La Manga. We have been in communication with the Federation over the past month to provide any assistance to secure their arrival into Spain in time for the event...We have worked closely with the remaining participating teams and the event will now be played as a five-team tournament,” said Andy.

The revised fixtures are:

26 August 2021

Netherlands vs Scotland (10:30);

Ireland vs Germany (10:30);

France vs Netherlands (15:30)

27 August 2021

Germany vs France (10:30);

Ireland vs Scotland (10:30);

Netherlands vs Germany (15:30)

28 August 2021- Rest Day

29 August 2021

France vs Ireland (10:30);

Scotland vs Germany (10:30)

30 August 2021

Netherlands vs Ireland (10:30);

Scotland vs France (10:30)

All the action from the tournament will be live streamed on ICC.tv and FanCode (in the Indian subcontinent).


Join our Family Today!