Cricket is a sport that never fails to produce some spectacular stuff that amazes the viewers on a regular basis. However, the fans have witnessed some extremely dramatic moments in world cricket. In a surprising turn of events, it's the umpires who have got more limelight than the players in recent times. While the officials were in the middle of few controversial decisions in the recently concluded series between India and England, things escalated to a whole different level during the second T20I between New Zealand and Bangladesh. The contest witnessed an incredible incident that has never been seen on the field of cricket ever before.
What's the target, umpires?
The Kiwis had scored 173/5 at the end of 18 overs when rain stopped play in Napier. When the play resumed, the Bangladesh batsmen came to bat which meant that the first innings was officially over. It was being reported that it would be a 16-over contest but in a bizarre state of events, the play had to be stopped for something that has never happened on the field of cricket. After the end of 1.3 overs, the umpires halted the play when they realized that Bangladesh are actually batting without knowing the revised official target.
After the miscommunication, match referee Jeff Crowe and on-field umpires Chris Brown and Chris Gaffaney got together to sort out the matter. The number-crunchers also were put to task and after a stoppage of five minutes, Bangladesh were finally told the revised target. Chasing a score of 171 in 16 overs (as per DLS), Mahmudullah's side fell short by 28 runs as the Kiwis sealed the 3-match T20I series.
Here is how Twitter reacted to this unbelievable incident: