Twitter reacts as Vinoo Mankad and Kumar Sangakkara get inducted into ICC Hall of Fame

India’s Vinoo Mankad and Kumar Sangakkara – two of the 10 inductees – received a lot of praise.

Aditya Kumar Editor

Updated - 14 July 2021 11:48 pm

Ahead of the World Test Championship final between India and New Zealand, the International Cricket Council has inducted 10 legendary players into its Hall of Fame. The players are those who have played in the past 100 years. A total of five eras — Early era, Inter-war era, Post-war era, ODI era and Modern Era — have been taken into account while selecting the players for the prestigious feat.

Noble and Aubrey Faulkner made it the final 10 from the period before 1918, and Learie Constantine and Stan McCabe also made a cut for the era ranging between 1918-1945. Meanwhile, India's Vinoo Mankad and England's Ted Dexter were picked from the post-war period and West Indies batsman Desmond Haynes and former England pacer Bob Willis were included from the ODI part. The modern era saw Kumar Sangakkara and Andy Flower getting included into the 10-man team that increased the overall tally of the Hall of Fame to 103.

Soon after the inductees were confirmed, Twitterati started pouring in congratulatory messages for the players. India's Vinoo Mankad and Kumar Sangakkara - two of the 10 inductees - also received a lot of praise.

Here are some of the tweets: