Rishabh Pant finally came good in the ODIs continuing on his rich run of form in the recent times. While a brilliant Test series Down Under, helped him get his place back in the T20Is, he was preferred over Suryakumar Yadav after Shreyas Iyer was ruled out of the remainder of the ODI series.
The southpaw pounced to this opportunity and looked in sublime touch. He unleashed his wide range of strokes and scored 77 off 40 deliveries to help India reach a total of 336/6. However, one particular incident from his innings has quickly become a topic of social media debate.
In the last ball of the 40th over of the Indian innings being bowled by bowler Tom Curran, Pant decided to play the reverse-ramp-sweep. However, the swashbuckling wicketkeeper batsman was adjudged LBW. Pant immediately reviewed the decision and replays showed that the 23-year-old had in fact edged the ball to the boundary.
Although the Delhi Capitals star survived but he was denied the four runs as per the bizarre ICC rule which considers it a dead ball as soon as the umpires raises his finger. Following the turn of events, reactions have poured in from all corners of the world on social media regarding the strange ICC rule.
Have a look at some of the best reactions:
Waiting for a WC final debacle to change it, apparently.
— Dilip Nenmelil (@DillysTweets) March 26, 2021
— Cosmo_Indian (@cosmoIndian) March 26, 2021
So basically, if its the last ball of the match or the innings and the batsman hits the ball to a 4, I can review for LBW and have the 4 not be counted, right? #INDvENG #INDvsENG @StarSportsIndia @ICC @BCCI
What an idiotic rule!!!
— Bharanidharan K (@honestbharani) March 26, 2021
Umpire error costs India four runs.
Easy fix – LBW law needs to be changed for umpire to make the decision once the ball is actually dead. That way you know how many runs were scored off the ball if it is not out. Runs don’t count if out.#INDvENG #INDvsENG
— Edges & Sledges Cricket Podcast (@1tip1hand) March 26, 2021
— Samarth Oza (@SamarthOza711) March 26, 2021