Indian batsman Suryakumar Yadav has been knocking the Indian door for quite some time. The 30-year-old got his international cap in the 2nd T20I against England but did not get a chance to bat. He was subsequently dropped for the next match and finally returned for a must-win encounter on Thursday.
After the Men in Blue lost the wicket of Rohit Sharma, SKY was sent to bat at No. 3 and he did not disappoint. The right-handed batsman started off his innings with a first-ball six over fine leg off Jofra Archer. He played with sheer class and utmost confidence as India kept on losing wickets at the other end. Completely unfazed by the dismissals of KL Rahul and Virat Kohli, Suryakumar went on to play a wonderful knock of 57 runs off 31 deliveries.
Controversial dismissal of Suryakumar
It was an extremely controversial end to Suryakumar’s maginificent knock. After he tried to play a ramp shot off Sam Curran, the ball went towards Dawid Malan who took a low-diving catch at fine-leg. The umpires on the field gave the soft decision as ‘out’ while the decision was referred to the third umpire.
The replays indicated that some part of ball had certainly touch the ground. While the fans were convinced it was ‘not out’, third umpire Virender Sharma wasn’t convinced as he termed the replays as “inconclusive evidence” and sent Surya back to the pavilion, much to the disappointment of all Indian fans. Skipper Virat Kohli was also visibly frustrated over the decision.
Here is the video:
— Sportzhustle_Squad (@sportzhustle) March 18, 2021
Here is how Twitter reacted to the controversial decision:
Clearly he spilled it… pic.twitter.com/qyP5g73ZMU
— Ammar Khanani (@ammaramin70) March 18, 2021
Great fielding effort. But not out IMO. Again, soft signal … might pinch quite hard .. Why should the umpire have to observe a soft signal from so far out.. when it’s so tricky even for the third umpire on replays! 🤭#IndvEng
— Jatin Sapru (@jatinsapru) March 18, 2021
— Sushant Mehta (@SushantNMehta) March 18, 2021
— Anshul Dengta (@AnshulDengta) March 18, 2021
This is ridiculous umpiring, I always thought benefit of doubt goes in batsman’s favour. It was clear that his middle and small finger was bending behind. So how on earth can it be inclusive?
— Ravi Samad (@samad_ravi) March 18, 2021