Trending News

U-17 FIFA Women’s World Cup India 2022 Schedule announced

The Group matches will be played from 11-18 October while the quarterfinals will be played on 21 and 22 October in Goa and Navi Mumbai.

Ritesh Pathak Author

Updated - 15 June 2022 5:26 pm

FIFA Women World Cup

FIFA and the Local Organising Committee (LOC) of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup India 2022 on Wednesday (June 15) officially announced the schedule for the biennial youth football tournament. The tournament will be played from 11 October to 30 October across three cities in the country. Goa, Bhubaneswar, and Navi Mumbai are the cities that will host the games.

The Group matches will be played from 11-18 October while the quarterfinals will be played on 21 and 22 October in Goa and Navi Mumbai. The semifinals of the tournament will be played on 26 October in Goa. The Final of the 2022 U17 FIFA Women’s World Cup will be played on 30 October in Navi Mumbai.

The Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar will see host India compete in all three group stage games on October 11, 14, and 17. The DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai and the Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Fatorda, Goa will equally share the four quarter-final games.

A total of 32 games contested by 16 teams will decide the winner of the seventh edition of the biennial youth tournament over 10 matchdays, with each venue hosting double headers on each matchday. The Official Draw will be made live on June 24.

“On the back of the successful FIFA U-17 World Cup 2017, which broke the record for being FIFA’s most attended youth World Cup ever, India 2022 is carrying on the positive legacy,” the organisers said.

“This youth tournament has touched the lives of 2,500 children through its Kick Off The Dream Football Carnivals, which aim at encouraging gender-inclusive participation. Promoting women in leadership, the LOC has also equipped the Indian footballing ecosystem with 162 female coaches in the grassroots through its legacy initiative, the Coach Education Scholarship Programme. Further editions of both, the coaching programme and the football carnival, are planned in the lead up to the 11th October kick off,” they added.

Notably, this will be India’s first-ever FIFA women’s tournament as hosts. After the completion of the UEFA Women’s U-17 Championship earlier in May, three European countries joined hosts India, China PR, Japan, New Zealand, USA, Canada, Mexico, Brazil, Chile, and Colombia in the team line-up for the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup India 2022.

There are three more spots up for grabs that will be fought for among the Member Associations of the CAF – Cameroon, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Nigeria, Ghana, and Morocco.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story