UEFA announces team of the tournament for EURO 2020; no place for Cristiano Ronaldo and Harry Kane

The team of the tournament features 5 Italy players and 3 England players.

Rohan Gulaty Author

Updated - 13 July 2021 5:01 pm

After a thrilling few weeks of football in European Championship 2020, UEFA have revealed the official team of the tournament selected by the technical observers of the federation. There were numerous performances that stood out throughout EURO 2020 and selecting the best XI was never going to be an easy task. As a result, there are some notable absentees from the team of the tournament but one cannot question the players who have got the nod ahead of the others as they were equally sensational for their respective teams. Here is UEFA's team of the tournament:


There were some incredible performances by the goalkeepers in EURO 2020. While Yann Sommer (Switzerland) and Jordan Pickford (England) produced some heroic saves for their sides, Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy) expectedly got the nod ahead of the duo considering the significant penalty saves he made in the semis and final.


There were quite a few defenders who bamboozled everyone with their performances this year. From Denzel Dumfries (Netherlands) to Luke Shaw (England), fans got to witness some heroic defensive displays in EURO 2020. However, only four of them could get their place in the team of the tournament and they are as follows: Kyle Walker (England), Leonardo Bonucci (Italy), Harry Maguire (England) and Leonardo Spinazzola (Italy).

Also Read: SportsTiger’s Best XI of EURO 2020


The tournament saw some magical performances in the centre of the field where players mesmerized everyone with their skills. Paul Pogba (France) and Emil Forsberg (Sweden) made some key contributions for their side but it was not enough to get their place in the team of the tournament. UEFA decided to go ahead with Pierre-Emile Højbjerg (Denmark), Jorginho (Italy) and Pedri (Spain) as the trio in midfield.


Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) and Patrik Shick (Czech Republic) emerged as the joint-highest goal-scorers in the tournament with 5 goals each. Harry Kane (England) also chipped in with some valuable contributions for his side in the knockouts to lead his side to the finals. However, UEFA decided to snub the trio and went ahead with Federico Chiesa (Italy), Romelu Lukaku (Belgium) and Raheem Sterling (England) as the forwards in the side.

UEFA's Team of EURO 2020 (4-3-3)

Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy); Kyle Walker (England), Leonardo Bonucci (Italy), Harry Maguire (England), Leonardo Spinazzola (Italy); Pierre-Emile Højbjerg (Denmark), Jorginho (Italy), Pedri (Spain); Federico Chiesa (Italy), Romelu Lukaku (Belgium), Raheem Sterling (England)

Match 15

Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka

24 October 2021 03:30 pm ist

Match 15

Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka

24 October 2021 03:30 pm ist