United-States-Football-League - sportstiger

Picture Credit: Twitter

With the National Football League on a break, a new American football tournament has emerged to help fans in this period of no football. After 37 years, the United States Football League has made a comeback. In the opening weekend of the 2022 season, Birmingham Stallions, Houston Gamblers and New Orleans Breakers have registered victories.

Here’s everything you need to know about USFL.

How many teams are playing in the USFL?

There are a total of 8 teams in the league which are the Michigan Panthers, New Jersey Generals, Philadelphia Stars, Pittsburgh Maulers, Birmingham Stallions, Houston Gamblers, New Orleans Breakers, and Tampa Bay Bandits. 

How many games will be played this season?

There will be 43 games this season with four matches a week during the 10-week regular season. This will be followed by two playoff games and a championship game. Teams in the same division will face each other twice, and the other division teams once. Each team comprises a 38-player active roster, with 7 players in the practice squad.

Where are the USFL games played?

All regular-season games will be hosted in the city of Birmingham, Alabama across two venues: Protective Stadium and Legion Field. Whereas the playoffs and championship games will be played at Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium in Canton, Ohio.

What are the key dates to remember?

Kickoff Weekend – April 16-17, 2022

Semifinals – June 25, 2022

USFL Championship Game – July 3, 2022