Was shocked when Tendulkar was given not out on DRS in 2011 World Cup: Saeed Ajmal

In the fourth ball of the 11th over, Tendulkar missed the ball trying to work it on the leg side as the ball thrashed on to his pads. Ian Gould, the on field umpire, raised his finger and despite it being a close call Sachin decided to take the only remaining review.

Saurabh Ganguly Author

Updated - 21 April 2021 5:09 pm

10 years after India's ICC 2011 World Cup win, former Pakistan spinner has opened up the LBW decision which Sachin Tendulkar survived on DRS in the semifinal clash between the neighbouring countries. Notably, the Men in Blue had got off to a flying start in the knock out match, already having scored 73 runs in the first 10 overs. As a result, Pakistan had to make a minor change in their plans and introduce off-spinner Saeed Ajmal into the attack.

In the fourth ball of the 11th over, Tendulkar missed the ball trying to work it on the leg side as the ball thrashed on to his pads. Ian Gould, the on field umpire, raised his finger and despite it being a close call Sachin decided to take the only remaining review. Much to the delight of the Mohali crowd, Tendulkar survived.

Was shocked when Tendulkar was given not out: Ajmal

Talking about that dismissal, Ajmal said that he was shocked to see Tendulkar surviving that DRS call. He said that it looked plumb to the naked eyes and even when seeing it on replays. However, the hawk-eye technology suggested that the ball would have gone on to miss the stumps.

Watch the video:

ALSO READ: BCCI to provide visa to Pakistan team to come India

Would still give him out: Ian Gould

Earlier, umpire Ian Gould had reflected on that decision saying that he would still give it out.

"All I saw was a quicker ball from Ajmal and it thudded into the pads and went to square leg. It was just right, he’s out. Sorry, you’re out. I don’t care who you are, Sachin or anybody, you’re out,” Gould had told BBC 5 Live Sport.

However, he had to overturn his decision as the replays showed otherwise. The decision was a significant one in the context of the match as Sachin went on to play a match winning innings and departed for 85. Had he been dismissed there, it could have been a different story.