WATCH 3rd umpire gives Devdutt Padikkal not out despite clear spike on ultra-edge


As the IPL 2021 enters the final phase of the season, things are getting quite dramatic and controversial as always. Despite the presence of DRS and various replays, umpires have come under the scrutiny for some of their decision-making in last couple of matches, which has left everyone in absolute shock. In the match between Punjab Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders, Rahul Tripathi took a brilliant catch but it was eventually ruled out under controversial circumstances.

Just a couple of days later, it was PBKS who were on the receiving end of a shocker from the third umpire. After Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bat first on Sunday, RCB got off to a steady start without losing any wicket in the powerplay. Ravi Bishnoi was brought into the attack to get the crucial breakthrough and he seemed to have done the trick in 8th over of the innings.

Was that out or not out?

As Padikkal tried to play a reverse hit, he missed it and the ball went into the gloves of KL Rahul. The Punjab skipper instantly appealed as he was quite sure that the batsman had gloved the ball on its way. Although the on-field umpire signaled not out, Rahul took DRS without even consulting anyone as he was quite confident.

When the replays were shown on big screen, it was evident why the PBKS captain was so excited since there was a little spike on ultra-edge when the ball passed Padikkal's gloves. It was obvious that the third umpire would overturn the on-field decision. However, in a dramatic sequence of events, TV umpire Krishnamachari Srinivasan was not convinced and he asked the on-field umpire to stay with his original decision of not out.

Watch the video here:

KL Rahul was expectedly in shock with the umpire's decision as he could not believe how it could be given as not out when there was visible disturbance on ultra-edge. The netizens also flooded the social media expressing their anger on the decision with former Kiwi cricketer Scott Styris even claiming that the 3rd umpire should be sacked immediately for the blunder.