Trending News

WATCH: Dabang Delhi’s players erupt in joy after becoming champions of PKL Season 8; beat Patna Pirates in final by 37-36

Naveen Kumar and Vijay Malik were star performers as Delhi lifted their first-ever PKL title on Friday.

Rohan Gulaty Author

Updated - 26 February 2022 12:30 pm

The Pro Kabaddi League Season 8 finally concluded on Friday as Dabang Delhi became the champions, after defeating Patna Pirates by 37-36 in a thrilling grand finale held at Sheraton Grand Bengaluru. Delhi, who ended as runners-up last season, finally thrived on the D-Day on the back of brilliant performances from Vijay Malik and Naveen Kumar.

The two teams, who were top of the table after league stages, deservingly made their way through to finals and produced an exhibition of Kabaddi for fans.

Patna and Delhi play out a thrilling finale

Both the sides got off to a cautious start but it was Patna Pirates who drew first blood, inflicting an all-out on Dabang Delhi in first half. Going into half-time break, the Men in Green had a narrow 17-15 advantage.

Although Delhi came out all guns blazing in the second half, an incredible super raid by Vijay Malik in 29th minute got them right back into the match and in a matter of seconds, the score was 24-24 when strategic time-out was called.

Few minutes later, Patna Pirates got all-out and Danang Delhi got a narrow lead to their name, with score reading 30-28. While Naveen Kumar kept getting crucial points for his side, it was Vijay Malik who got another super raid late in second half to get his side on top.

With around 2 minutes remaining, Delhi were leading by 35-31 and the stage was set for an epic conclusion. However, in final moments of the match, Naveen Kumar kept his cool and showed his maturity as Delhi won the match by 37-36.

As expected, the Delhi players erupted in joy as they became champions of PKL for the first time ever in history of tournament. There were tears of joy as history was created in Bengaluru.

Watch the video here:

Pro Kabaddi League Champions

PKL Season 1: Jaipur Pink Panthers

PKL Season 2: U Mumba

PKL Season 3: Patna Pirates

PKL Season 4: Patna Pirates

PKL Season 5: Patna Pirates

PKL Season 6: Bengaluru Bulls

PKL Season 7: Bengal Warriors

PKL Season 8: Dabang Delhi


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story