WATCH: Danushka Gunathilaka survives despite getting glove on ball as Bangladesh fail to take review

In the third ball of the fifth over of the Sri Lanka innings, a Taskin Ahmed bouncer flew into the wicketkeeper's hands.

Saurabh Ganguly Author

Updated - 25 May 2021 6:59 pm

The Decision Review System (DRS) has become a big part of modern-day cricket. Although there are a few contested issues within the technology with the umpire's call being one of them, the blunders have more or less vanished from the sport. However, another critical skill has come into the game for cricketers especially the captain, vice-captain and probably the wicketkeeper and the bowler, the skill of knowing when to go for the DRS and not since it can cost big time in a crunch game.

One such incident happened during the ongoing second ODI between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium, Dhaka on Tuesday. It was the hosts who were on the receiving end of not using DRS effectively as they decided to go against taking a DRS. In the third ball of the fifth over of the Sri Lanka innings, Taskin Ahmed bouncer flew into the wicketkeeper's hands. While the Bangladesh players made a half-hearted appeal as they thought it might have taken the bat or the gloves of Danushka Gunathilaka but it was given not out.

The team led by Tamim Iqbal ultimately decided against taking the DRS. However, the decision came back to haunt them as not much later replays showed that it did in fact hit Gunathilaka's gloves and it was out.

Check out the video right here:

Mushfiqur's hundred takes Bangladesh to 246

Earlier, senior batsman Mushfiqur Rahim's 125 from 127 deliveries studded with 10 boundaries helped the Bangla Tigers post 246 after winning the toss and opting to bat first. The hosts are 1-0 up and this is a must-win match for Sri Lanka to stay alive in the three-match series.