The contest between Chennai Super Kings and Punjab Kings wasn’t the most exciting ones as the Yellow Army won the one-sided affair by 6 wickets in the end. However, there were a few moments that did provide some entertainment to the fans. One of the key talking points happened towards the end of the match as the umpires, including the TV umpire, made a complete mess.
Is that out, not out or no-ball?
It was the fifth delivery of 14th over of CSK innings as they needed only 10 runs in more than 6 overs to win the contest. Riley Meredith bowled a pacy bouncer as Faf du Plessis completely missed the ball in an attempt to play an attacking pull shot. As the ball went to KL Rahul’s gloves, Punjab Kings’ players made a massive appeal.
While the main umpire (Anil Chaudhary) did not signal anything, he went towards the leg-umpire (Anil Dandekar) and eventually referred the decision to third umpire. However, the referral was not to check if it was out or not out, it was done to confirm if it was a no ball (second delivery above shoulder) or not. As the TV umpire confirmed that it was a legal delivery, he asked the on-field umpires to signal it as out, much to everyone’s surprise. Main Umpire Anil Chaudhary followed the instruction and ruled du Plessis out.
Decision got reversed eventually
Watching the shocking events on the field, the CSK opener immediately used the DRS and asked the umpires to refer the decision. The whole procedure was repeated again, but this time to check if du Plessis gloved the ball or not. As the replays showed, the 36-year-old did not make any contact with the ball and was eventually ruled not out in the end.
Here is the video of the incident:
— Sportzhustle_Squad (@sportzhustle) April 16, 2021
While CSK did lose the wickets of Suresh Raina and Ambati Rayudu after that, Faf du Plessis carried his bat through the innings and finished on 36* off 33 deliveries as Chennai Super Kings won the match by 6 wickets in 15.4 overs.