Trending News

WATCH: Hasan Ali forcefully attempts to raise umpire’s finger during intra-squad game, leaves teammates in splits

Pakistan will next face Sri Lanka in a two-game Test series.

Abhishek Sandikar Author

Updated - 30 June 2022 12:46 pm

Pakistan’s Test team is currently playing an intra-squad practice match at the Pindi Stadium before their two-match Test series against Sri Lanka which is set to start next month in Galle. The first fixture of the tour will commence on 16 July while the final Test will be played in Colombo starting on 24 July.

During this practice game, fast bowler Hasan Ali shared a light moment with the umpire as he was seen forcefully trying to raise the official’s fingers as his appeal for an LBW dismissal was overturned. Ali delivered a full ball to Salman Ali Agha which hit the batter’s pads, but the umpire did react to the appeal. The 27-year-old then ran toward the umpire and tried to raise his finger and the two shared a laugh.

Pakistan chief selector Muhammad Wasim announced the 18-man squad for the tour which will see the return of leg spinner Yasir Shah. Wasim released a statement addressing the squad that said,  “We have selected this squad considering the conditions in Sri Lanka and have equipped the team with the best possible resources.” 

“Our spin department is boosted with the return of Yasir Shah, who proved himself as a match-winner in Sri Lanka on our last tour, and Sajid Khan has made way for him. The spin department also includes two spin all-rounders, Mohammad Nawaz and Salman Ali Agha and left-arm orthodox Nauman Ali. Salman Ali Agha has shown consistent performances with the bat in the past three seasons, and he is a handy off-spin option,” the statement added. 

Pakistan squad for Sri Lanka tour:

Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain, wicketkeeper), Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood and Yasir Shah.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story