The 2nd ODI between New Zealand and Bangladesh was nothing short of drama and controversy. After Kyle Jamieson’s catch off Tamim Iqbal was controversially ruled out, the Bangladesh skipper eventually got out in the most unbelievable fashion. James Neesham showed some amazing foot-work, not while batting but during fielding which left everyone in awe of the player.
James Neesham or Lionel Messi?
It was the second delivery of 31st over as Bangladesh (133/2) were eyeing a big score. Tamim Iqbal, playing on 78, responded to a call from Mushfiqur Rahim and went off for a quick single. Unfortunately, Iqbal was not aware of Neesham’s football skills as the Kiwi all-rounder ran towards the ball and flicked it with his left-foot to hit the stumps directly. The Bangladesh skipper was clearly far from his crease and went back to the pavilion.
Neesham through on goal! It's out. @JimmyNeesh with some fine footwork to break the @BCBtigers partnership. 133/3 now in thee 31st over as the players have a drink. Tamim Iqbal out for 78. Follow play LIVE with @sparknzsport #NZvBAN pic.twitter.com/0mmjguWNYd
— BLACKCAPS (@BLACKCAPS) March 23, 2021
The moment became one of the decisive moments of the match as Iqbal could have guided Bangladesh to a 300+ total. However, the visitors were restricted to 271 which the Kiwis hunted down in 48.2 overs.