Trending News

WATCH: PV Sindhu calls verbal spat with umpire key reason behind defeat

The incident took place in the second game where Sindhu was leading 14-11 in the second game of the match.

Abhishek Sandikar Author

Updated - 1 May 2022 3:57 pm

Indian Shuttler PV Sindhu suffered a loss to Japan’s Akane Yamaguchi in the semi-final of the Badminton Asia Championships. But the defeat wasn’t all her fault as she got into an argument with the chair umpire as he gave Sindhu a point penalty.

After the match, world number seven called the decision unfair and considered it one of the reasons for her loss. Sindhu won the first game 21-13 but then Yamaguchi won the next two games in dominating fashion as she won the match 19-21, 16-21. The current world number one will now defend her title in the final. 

Watch the altercation here:

But the controversy broke out in the second game of the match, Sindhu was leading 14-11 when the official called her out and gave a one-point penalty. The umpire cited that she was taking a lot of time between serves and hence was given the penalty. 

I think it was very unfair: Sindhu

In the post-match interview, PV Sindhu addressed the incident as she said, “The umpire told me you’re taking a lot of time but the opponent wasn’t ready at that point. But the umpire suddenly gave her the point and it was really unfair.”

“I think that was one of the reasons why I lost. I mean that is my feeling because at that moment it was 14-11 and could have become 15-11 but instead, it became 14-12 and she took continuous points. And I think it was very unfair. Maybe I would have won the match and played in the final,” she continued.

HAVE A GREAT DAY WITH TOP STORIES IN THE WORLD OF SPORTS

Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story
Dafa Ads 400x60