Trending News

WATCH: Simi Singh survives as umpire overturns decision in bizarre turn of events during Ireland vs New Zealand 2nd ODI

Kiwi pacer Blair Tickner had dropped his towel during his run-up which led the umpire to retract his decision.

Tanishq Sharma Author

Published on - 15 July 2022 8:12 pm

New Zealand are currently playing a three-match ODI series against Ireland and have managed a 2-0 lead after winning the second ODI on Tuesday. During the game, umpire Paul Reynolds caught everyone’s attention by overturning his decision.

In a bizarre incident that took place at the Malahide Cricket Club Ground, umpire Paul Reynolds was forced to change his decision after ruling out Ireland all-rounder Simi Singh.

A short ball from Kiwi seamer Blair Tickner found the outside edge of Singh’s bat which was easily grabbed by the wicketkeeper, Tom Latham. Umpire, instantly, raised his finger to signal the dismissal of the Irish cricketer. However, Tickner had dropped his towel during his run-up which led the umpire to retract his decision.

Watch the video here:

The cricket law ‘20.4.2.6’ suggests that an umpire can call or signal a dead ball if “the striker is distracted by any noise or movement or in any other way while preparing to receive, or receiving a delivery. This shall apply whether the source of the distraction is within the match or outside it.”

Apart from that, law ‘20.4.2.7’ states that an umpire can call or signal a dead ball if “there is an instance of a deliberate attempt to distract under either of Laws 41.4 (Deliberate attempt to distract striker) or 41.5 (Deliberate distraction, deception or obstruction of a batter).”

HAVE A GREAT DAY WITH TOP STORIES IN THE WORLD OF SPORTS

Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story