WATCH: Union Sports Minister Anurag Thakur launches official theme song 'Kar De Kamaal Tu' for India's Paralympic contingent

Sports Minister Anurag Thakur expressed hope that India's medal tally will be even greater this time at the Paralympic Games in Tokyo.

Abhinav GoelAuthor

Updated - 23 August 2021 10:50 AM

Anurag thakur

Sports Minister Anurag Thakur virtually launched the theme song 'Kar De Kamaal Tu' on Tuesday for India's Paralympic contingent. The song has been composed and sung by para-cricketer Sanjeev Singh, who is a resident of Lucknow. The song has been named 'Kar De Kamaal Tu'. Notably, it was the idea of the Paralympic Committee of India to get the theme song sung by the Divyang community as a mark of inclusiveness.

At the Rio Paralympic Games in 2016, the Indian contingent had returned with a haul of four medals, including two gold, a silver and a bronze. Meanwhile, a record number of 54 para athletes will participate this year in nine different sports in the Paralympic Games in Tokyo, which are set to open on August 24.

Watch the theme song here:

Sports Minister Anurag Thakur expressed hope that India's medal tally will be even greater this time. Speaking on the occasion, Thakur said, "The song embodies the grit and determination of our amazing Paralympic athletes. Indian para-athletes have consistently performed well all over the world. You have made India proud. Let's all come together and cheer for our para-athletes. This time India is sending the largest ever contingent of 54 para sportspersons competing across nine disciplines."

"When you go, don't feel under pressure. Play with a free mind because at the international level, perhaps you are equal in terms of talent, but how you deal with the circumstances and how tough you are mentally is important. At Rio, there were 19 para athletes and you brought back four medals. This is the biggest contingent. And you will bring more medals," he added.

The launch was also attended by Sports Secretary Ravi Mittal, Secretary LS Singh, PCI President Deepa Malik and Secretary-General Gursharan Singh.


Join our Family Today!