The IPL 2021 Eliminator between KKR and RCB has proven to be quite an exciting affair in Sharjah on a difficult batting wicket. After Virat Kohli and Co. set a 139-run target for the Men in Purple, it was always going to be a tricky chase on a slow and sluggish wicket. Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer got their side off to a steady start before the former was dismissed by Harshal Patel, setting up the contest for an exciting next phase.
Rahul Tripathi was the next batsman in and he has been one of the players for KKR who has got some crucial runs for them in the middle overs. He was going to be key against the RCB spinners, especially Yuzvendra Chahal. The battle between Chahal and Tripathi was set to take place in the 7th over and it was eventually the experienced spinner who came out on top.
Kohli, Bharat and Chahal combine to dismiss Tripathi
In a cricket match, a bowler and fielder often combine together to send opposition batsmen back to pavilion. However, it is very rare when three players from a side get together to dismiss a batsman, and that too when it is an LBW.
Something very similar happened when Chahal bowled a google to Tripathi, which seemed to have struck the pads of batsman right in front of the stumps. Umpire Virender Sharma turned down the appeal as the big question was if the ball took an inside edge or not before hitting the pads.
While Chahal was not sure, wicketkeeper KS Bharat was convinced that there was no bat involved. He passed on the message to captain Virat Kohli who just needed a little assurance to take the referral. The 32-year-old looked quite confident and the replays confirmed that the ball had missed the bat, confirming a plumb LBW. As a result, umpire had to reverse the decision as RCB got a crucial breakthrough in the contest.
Watch the video here:
Despite the decision getting overturned, Virat Kohli was not happy as he was seen involved in a heated discussion with umpire after the over, presumably asking for an explanation for the on-field call.