Trending News

West Indies announce 16-member squad for five-match T20I series against India

The first match of the 5-match T20I series is set to be played on 29 July at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad.

Ritesh Pathak Author

Updated - 29 July 2022 4:33 pm

West Indies

The West Indies cricket board on Thursday announced a 16-member squad for the five-match T20I series against India. Nicholas Pooran will continue to lead the side. Meanwhile, Shimron Hetmyer, who last played for West Indies in November 2021, has made a comeback to the side. Hetmyer was available for selection after he passed a fitness Test on Wednesday.

Jason Holder, who missed the first two ODIs due to COVID-19, has been included in the T20I squad. Brandon King, Shamarh Brooks, and Rovman Powell also retained their places in the team. Odean Smith, Dominic Drakes, and Obed McCoy who featured in the squad for Bangladesh T20Is have also been recalled for the series against India.

“We welcome back Hetmyer and it is good to see him again in West Indies colours. He will fortify the batting group and with his experience and adaptability we have a ‘finisher’ who can add value and win matches for the team and delight the supporters,” said lead selector Desmond Haynes.

“Everything we do, we have to take into consideration we have a big tournament coming up later this year, which is the ICC T20 World Cup, so we are planning and gearing up towards that event. It is good to give the players some exposure to the international stage and look to find the right combinations,” he added.

After India clinched the three-match ODI series 3-0, the two teams will lock horns in five T20Is to be played over 10 days. The first match is all set to be played on 29 July at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad.

WI squad for T20Is against India: 

Nicholas Pooran (Captain), Rovman Powell (Vice Captain), Shamarh Brooks, Dominic Drakes, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Obed McCoy, Keemo Paul, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Devon Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.


29 July: 1st T20I – Brian Lara Cricket Academy, Trinidad

1 August: 2nd T20I – Warner Park, St Kitts

2 August: 3rd T20I – Warner Park

6 August: 4th T20I – Broward County Stadium, Florida

7 August: 5th T20I – Broward County Stadium

T20Is start at 10:30am (9:30am Jamaica/8pm India)


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story