West Indies to play qualifying round next year

Picture Credit: Twitter

The eight teams to receive automatic qualification for the Super 12 round of the T20 World Cup 2022 were confirmed after West Indies faced a defeat to Australia by eight wickets on Saturday. Consequently, the eight teams - India, Australia, England, Pakistan, New Zealand, South Africa, Afghanistan and Bangladesh have already made it to the Super 12 of the marquee event set to happen in Australia next year.

While the deadline for determining the same was November 15, the Men in Maroon were knocked out of the competition from the Super 12 stage itself and are at the number 10 position which would not change until the deadline. This is a huge setback for West Indies team who are one of the most successful teams in the world in this format and the only side to have won the competition more than once until now.

Bangladesh back directly in the Super 12 round

Meanwhile, Bangladesh who missed out on direct qualification to the Super 12 round this year made amends and will directly play the Super 12 round in 2022. However, Sri Lanka will continue to feature in the Round 1 qualifying matches as they failed to make the cut through the ICC Rankings. The Dasun Shanaka-led side won all three games in the Qualifiers this year but then lost three out of five matches in the Super 12 to bow out of the competition.

They ended up ninth in the rankings before the deadline, in contrast to Bangladesh's eight and West Indies' 10th.

Pakistan, Australia and England through to semifinals in T20 World Cup 2021

As far as the ongoing T20 World Cup 2021 is concerned, Pakistan, Australia and England are through to the semifinals and the one last team will be decided either on Sunday or Monday. New Zealand, Afghanistan and India continue to be in the race for the remaining spot in the semifinals line-up with the BlackCaps the only side with their destiny in their own hands.

The final of the tournament is set to be played on November 14 after which New Zealand will travel to India for a T20I series followed by a couple of Test matches.